36. Mott the Hoople – All the Young Dudes (1972)

OK, so I’ve fallen WAY behind and must redouble my efforts to get this countdown back on track. (Otherwise, what kind of countdown would it be?)

When we last left our story, we were exploring London of the early 1970s, when Glam Rock was at its height. I can’t imagine leaving Mott the Hoople out of the sleazy mix, so here’s their biggest hit: “All the Young Dudes.”  And I need to send this one out as a dedication to Ingrid, who (though she may deny it) lurves this song.

You have to wonder: how could such an unsexy band thrive in the superficial heyday of glam? Because these dudes are not what one might call “attractive.” Not on the outside anyways — and I am hardly one to judge such things. But David Bowie loved this band, though, and when Mott were about to split up in 1971 (after putting out four albums that no one bought), Bowie intervened, gave them this killer song, produced their next record for them, and made them stars.

Some great lyrics here. We’ve come a long ways away from 1968, apparently: “My brother’s back home with his Beatles and his Stones / We never got it off on that “Revolution” stuff / What a drag… too many snags.”

And where are we now in 1972?  “Now I’ve drunk a lot of wine and I’m feeling fine / Got to race some cat to bed: / Is there concrete all around, or is it in my head?”

Mott The Hoople (lookin' good...)

2 thoughts on “36. Mott the Hoople – All the Young Dudes (1972)

  1. k- says:

    Glad you’re back.
    I was worried that Phony Beatlemania had bitten the dust.

  2. No dust-biting here, I’m happy to report. And some great tracks coming up.

    I might mention, though, that “phonybeatlemania” isn’t meant to reference The Clash. It’s meant to reference Destroyer (referencing The Clash).

    (Skip to 3:00 if you’re busy…)

Leave a Reply

